Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

The Hand of Destiny


I recently went to a Summer festival, full of carnival games and delicious sweet and fried tidbits. I ate a yummy fruit tart (gluten free, of course) sold by a local bakery, and actually won a round in that impossible milk bottle toss game. And then, I noticed a little both on the outskirts of the others, and quickly jumped over for a chance to get some henna designs on my hand.

Real henna is a natural and organic type of long lasting temporary tattoo, made by mixing dried and powdered leaves out a Middle Eastern tree together with essential oil. The mixture is put in a small plastic baggie and piped out like frosting, and the result is a puffy paint like design, that will eventually dry out and flake off leading the flat stained design behind. It it’s absolutely gorgeous looking, and I like that it’s more sophisticated then spooned on fake tattoos, but also less permanent than a real tattoo. I like change too much to be happy with anything permanent!

image

The nail art you see here is based on watercolor techniques. I put on a light background color, and applied colors on top with a fan brush that had been dipped in water before the polish. If you are interested in the dramatic nail style you may want to look at my post on rainbow crackled nails, or for a dreamier look at my post on an minty heart manicure.

What are your thoughts on henna, and other forms of body art?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2015 by in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
