Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

Color Of The Weird


radient orchidThe Anti Color Of The Year

Pantone’s color of the year is Radiant Orchid.

Not normal orchid, mind you. Radiant. So it slipped into a vat of nuclear waste and, when angry, it pulses out blindingly radiant light waves, or it turns evil with its anger and becomes the stinky corpse flower of doom. Yeah, as you can see, I’m not really too into the concept of a ‘color of the year’. You’ll know that if you saw my take on last year’s color Emerald. I rebelled and announced that my personal color of 2013 was ruby red, and I was sticking to my story.

This year, I like Butter Yellow

Well, let bygones be bygones I say. Why fight the tide? It takes more effort to run perpendicular to the enemy. Why not parallel this ridiculous color trending by introducing a complimentary color? That gives you, dear reader, more options. If my complimentary color is butter yellow, and you like butter yellow, you could go all out and buy or copy everything I show here. Or you could dance the edge of risque and respectability and mix your new Radiant Orchid finds with some of my Butter Yellow finds for a pleasing combination. Or you could be a square and pick up radioactive lavender by itself and purposefully, because you are so Hipster you accept the big trends so as to be different from the people making smaller counter culture trends. Sort of like a punk style person trying to shirk the smaller establishment of the Punk style by donning something from the yuppie style.
But then your mind would hurt if you were writing or reading something that complicated at this time of night, so let’s just skip over that and move onto the main point: I like Butter Yellow. I don’t like being told what to do. I’m combining those two things by not buying lots of pale purple stuff, because consumerism is something you can only do lightheartedly before your college years when you are bombarded by people spouting lofty stuff someone else told them was cool to spout. All that means that I’m neither buying nor stealing Butter Yellow colored things, but probably making them, but in the meantime we can both drool at stuff other people with more money than me are going to buy. Hurrah!

Duo One: Office

File It Away: Filing Cabinet

BiselyFileCabinetYlw1005930G_xThis filing cabinet is a little stronger than butter, but it really is cool, so I think you’ll forgive me. It’s available for 200 buckaroos at the container store. You can fill the drawers with these lavender hanging files to add a soothing touch to tone down all that yellow.

66064_4Duo Two: Home

Slipcovers Make a Splash

slipcoverHere we have a simple yellow jersey slipcover. With such a light color, a slipcover is much better than a permanent upholstery change, as darn stains are sure to show up. But it will also lighten the mood of a room, and you’d want a slipcover even if you chose a darker color just because stains are magically attracted to couches. You can buy this at Target for about $90, and have some money left over for some cute pillow covers like the cool knit version from Adorablewares‘ Etsy store below.

Duo Three: Fashion

Snuggly and Sunny: Sweater time!

This is a nice muted yellow, close to the Butter Yellow I’ve supposedly been showing you. When it’s from Land’s End you expect the price to be a little higher than Kmart and a lot lower than something designer, with good quality thrown in, and that’s what you get with them, though at $50 this is a little higher than what I’m used to seeing. But then, it’s in the higher grade cotton, so I suppose it makes sense. I’ve personally bought a fawn colored cardigan on clearance (college, remember?) and I thought it was snuggly and fit well. It would look really cute with the violet birdy necklace from Artisan Pendants (an Etsy store).

Duo Four: Food

Some things are implied…

Okay, so this cheesecake from Sarah Bakes Gluten Free is all wrong. I mean it’s yummy and delicious and I’m in love with it, but color wise cutlery escapes me. I mean, where can I fit the yellow into this? A yellow trifle dish? No! Apparently, the only type of trifle dish is a clear trifle dish, and you can’t buy one in any other color for love or money. Except ones with flowers painted on. you want that? Thought not. So that’s a bust. Dessert plates? Nope. They only sell yellow paper dessert plates, and that is just plain wasteful. Throwing stuff away after only one use? Bah! And there were a total of five saucers in yellow, and they were either paper or ridiculously expensive. Who knew saucers were expensive? I’ve just used them as mini dessert or snack plates. Why go and make something that holds trail mix expensive? Ok, so you get the idea. This one was a headache.
So go and buy your clear trifle bowl and paint the base yellow, (maybe a future post?) or just use these pretty yellow (washable) napkins. You’ll save money in the long run by washing them, and you’ll save at least a few trees if you use these or others for many years. These napkins are sold in sets of four at ten dollars for a set from ExclusiveElement’s Etsy store. They may say they are wedding napkins, but to me they look more like kitchen table napkins, or lunch on the veranda napkins. That’s because technically, once you buy them, they become anything-you-feel-like napkins. Napkins are flexible creatures that way.

So, there you have it! Lots of cute things, and you get choices in the color of the year, the anti-color of the year Butter Yellow, and the option to mix and match lots of cute things. Yay! Who doesn’t love cute things? Unless you think these things aren’t cute. Sorry for disappointing you, folks.

Markdown content

The Anti Color Of The Year

Pantone’s color of the year is Radiant Orchid.

Not normal orchid, mind you. Radiant. So it slipped into a vat of nuclear waste and, when angry, it pulses out blindingly radiant light waves, or it turns evil with its anger and becomes the stinky corpse flower of doom. Yeah, as you can see, I’m not really too into the concept of a ‘color of the year’. You’ll know that if you saw my take on last year’s color Emerald. I rebelled and announced that my personal color of 2013 was ruby red, and I was sticking to my story.

This year, I like Butter Yellow

Well, let bygones be bygones I say. Why fight the tide? It takes more effort to run perpendicular to the enemy. Why not parallel this ridiculous color trending by introducing a complimentary color? That gives you, dear reader, more options. If my complimentary color is butter yellow, and you like butter yellow, you could go all out and buy or copy everything I show here. Or you could dance the edge of risque and respectability and mix your new Radiant Orchid finds with some of my Butter Yellow finds for a pleasing combination. Or you could be a square and pick up radioactive lavender by itself and purposefully, because you are so Hipster you accept the big trends so as to be different from the people making smaller counter culture trends. Sort of like a punk style person trying to shirk the smaller establishment of the Punk style by donning something from the yuppie style.
But then your mind would hurt if you were writing or reading something that complicated at this time of night, so let’s just skip over that and move onto the main point: I like Butter Yellow. I don’t like being told what to do. I’m combining those two things by not buying lots of pale purple stuff, because consumerism is something you can only do lightheartedly before your college years when you are bombarded by people spouting lofty stuff someone else told them was cool to spout. All that means that I’m neither buying nor stealing Butter Yellow colored things, but probably making them, but in the meantime we can both drool at stuff other people with more money than me are going to buy. Hurrah!

Duo One: Office

File It Away: Filing Cabinet

BiselyFileCabinetYlw1005930G_xThis filing cabinet is a little stronger than butter, but it really is cool, so I think you’ll forgive me. It’s available for 200 buckaroos at the container store. You can fill the drawers with these lavender hanging files to add a soothing touch to tone down all that yellow.

66064_4Duo Two: Home

Slipcovers Make a Splash

slipcoverHere we have a simple yellow jersey slipcover. With such a light color, a slipcover is much better than a permanent upholstery change, as darn stains are sure to show up. But it will also lighten the mood of a room, and you’d want a slipcover even if you chose a darker color just because stains are magically attracted to couches. You can buy this at Target for about $90, and have some money left over for some cute pillow covers like the cool knit version from Adorablewares‘ Etsy store below.

Duo Three: Fashion

Snuggly and Sunny: Sweater time!

This is a nice muted yellow, close to the Butter Yellow I’ve supposedly been showing you. When it’s from Land’s End you expect the price to be a little higher than Kmart and a lot lower than something designer, with good quality thrown in, and that’s what you get with them, though at $50 this is a little higher than what I’m used to seeing. But then, it’s in the higher grade cotton, so I suppose it makes sense. I’ve personally bought a fawn colored cardigan on clearance (college, remember?) and I thought it was snuggly and fit well. It would look really cute with the violet birdy necklace from Artisan Pendants (an Etsy store).

Duo Four: Food

Some things are implied…

Okay, so this cheesecake from Sarah Bakes Gluten Free is all wrong. I mean it’s yummy and delicious and I’m in love with it, but color wise cutlery escapes me. I mean, where can I fit the yellow into this? A yellow trifle dish? No! Apparently, the only type of trifle dish is a clear trifle dish, and you can’t buy one in any other color for love or money. Except ones with flowers painted on. you want that? Thought not. So that’s a bust. Dessert plates? Nope. They only sell yellow paper dessert plates, and that is just plain wasteful. Throwing stuff away after only one use? Bah! And there were a total of five saucers in yellow, and they were either paper or ridiculously expensive. Who knew saucers were expensive? I’ve just used them as mini dessert or snack plates. Why go and make something that holds trail mix expensive? Ok, so you get the idea. This one was a headache.
So go and buy your clear trifle bowl and paint the base yellow, (maybe a future post?) or just use these pretty yellow (washable) napkins. You’ll save money in the long run by washing them, and you’ll save at least a few trees if you use these or others for many years. These napkins are sold in sets of four at ten dollars for a set from ExclusiveElement’s Etsy store. They may say they are wedding napkins, but to me they look more like kitchen table napkins, or lunch on the veranda napkins. That’s because technically, once you buy them, they become anything-you-feel-like napkins. Napkins are flexible creatures that way.

So, there you have it! Lots of cute things, and you get choices in the color of the year, the anti-color of the year Butter Yellow, and the option to mix and match lots of cute things. Yay! Who doesn’t love cute things? Unless you think these things aren’t cute. Sorry for disappointing you, folks.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2014 by in Z Land and tagged , , , , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
