Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

Burqa Know How


  

Most of my friends usually just wear a hijab like this, not a full burqa.

Most of my friends usually just wear a hijab like this blogger`s awesome lookbook collection, not a full burqa.

The burqa. Its related to headscarves and early sun lotion, and seems to be the enemy of women everywhere. Many Americans upon first seeing or hearing about this article of clothing jump to all kinds of conclusions. They think its about suppression. They think its chauvinists beating their views into their subdued womenfolk. They think its part of a terrible and evil religion whose sole purpose is creating mass murderers and plane crashers and suicide bombers. Wrong, wrong, wrong. People are jumping to so many conclusions, Im starting to look for the rabbit holes, to be sure I dont fall into these traps of uninformed thinking.

So let`s get the low down on this, bottom to top.

For one thing, not all women who wear a veil wear the giant tent like veil that covers ever square inch of a person. Even in a place like DC that is a relatively infrequent occurrence. You are much more likely to see women wearing beautiful scarves that cover only a portion or all of their hair. The face and body are completely exposed. Except not actually, as you are not likely to see a pairing of any type of veil with revealing clothing. That kind of goes against the whole point.

And what is the point, you may ask? Glad you`re curious. The point is modesty. Now, hold your horses and steady your thoughts. “I knew it!” you`re thinking. “I knew it was a system of suppression!” Except not quite. As time goes on, we are seeing more and more that women`s rights are more about freedom of choice than rejecting traditions out of hand. Sure, women`s rights give celebrities the power to wear whatever they darn well please, or rather unwear whatever they darn well like. Those kind of outfits say, “I am woman, hear me roar!” And that`s cool. It`s not my cup of tea, but if you like catcalls and being valued purely for your appearance, more power to you.

The veil is also a symbol of power. You know how teens and adults feel like they can say anything on the Internet because they are anonymous there? That`s the burqa. If a woman stands in a crowd and says some great speech about women`s rights or politics or her favorite swimwear, she can turn down an alley and look the same as every other woman, safe from retribution. Sure, this is more of a plus if you are a Middle Eastern woman living in a dictator ruled society. I`m not sure it would help you so much in America. But the idea that you have this complete freedom from being judged on your true personality and vulnerable to the whims of others is nice. Sure, some people may think you look silly. Especially if it`s Summer, and especially if you are in the awful DC humidity. (It`s terrible, I assure you!) But they don`t know anything about you. And that makes you powerful, because you know a lot about them. A woman in a burka could be one of the best blackmailers ever, because she has the greatest wall flower outfit ever and convenient eavesdropping screening built into her outfit. How`s that for repression?

But women who wear the veil tend to fall into another category. They are women. That means they have the right to reject being viewed as sexual beings, and they want to proclaim that loudly and obviously by wearing a veil. They choose to do this, mind you. I know many of my friend`s parents and especially even fathers urged them to not wear a veil in our teen years, thinking this would make them stand out as points of contempt by ignorant Westerners. But I can guarantee you they didn`t have problems with sexual harassment like I did, and I always wore turtlenecks and icky shapeless jeans to try to dissuade such attentions. Maybe I should have worn a veil as well, now that I think about it. And head scarves are not such bad things. Many Middle Eastern friends of mine have gorgeous thick and long hair, and those scarves prevent wind or dirt attacking it. It can also serve as some protection against the skin cancer I`m sure to have by my fifties. And it`s so nice to just put on a scarf and save about an hour of hair styling everyday. I`m a little jealous now that I`m writing all of these pros out, actually.

But I can`t start to wear a veil myself, because it would be sending a false message about my religious beliefs. I happen to be Christian, and even consider that God guy to be a buddy, but I think of a different God than the one shown in the Quran when I say that. As such, even when I wear a scarf as my Winter hat of choice, I get weird looks and giggles. Actually, people of many different religions wear headscarves. Traditional Jewish, Amish, and Catholic groups all have the option of wearing a scarf to show deep dedication to God. I`m sure a ton of other groups I am woefully ignorant about do as well. In fact, only a small percentage of Muslim women living outside of the Middle East choose to wear a scarf at all. And I suspect that more wear it in their native region for practical sun protection reasons more than for anything else.

And then there is this idea that certain things apply to all Muslims. “Muslim” is not, in fact, a codeword for crazy serial killer. The first thing to understand about suicide bombers and terrorist groups like the Muslim Brotherhood is that the Quran does not encourage the random killing of non-Muslims. Though it encourages an element of separation from other religions, as do many religions, this applies to the idea that a non-Muslim wife or husband will weaken your own faith. It does not say that killing people is a good thing in any way.

Now, there may be some terrorist out there who genuinely believe that Allah wants him (or her, women can be murderers too) to kill the infidels. This is not a result of the genuine teachings of Islamic faith. Rather, it comes from having too many years of harsh dictatorships across much of the Middle East. Dictators are known for using a tool called brainwashing and scapegoating to create an enemy that will bind the people to their ruler`s own cruelty, usually choosing a completely innocent victim`s reputation to sully, in order to convince the populace to ignore his own jerkiness. Brainwashing is not the only tool at work, though. As has happened in every culture and religion through the course of human history, groups of ‘bad guys’ will don the name of some respectable group and then go out and do bad things. Cause that`s kind of how bad guys roll. And then that brings down the credibility of the people who really are part of the group, specifically Muslims in this case. Totally unfair? Yes. So why support this by buying into these ignorant prejudices?

Last but not least, may I add that plenty of terrorists are not Muslim. Many of them don`t follow any particular religion. They are doing it because something inside of them snapped, not because having a certain skin color or wearing certain clothes marks you as innately evil. So lay off on the burkha, will you?

This is from- I believe- A French social networking site. It seems Pinterest-ish.

This is from- I believe- A French social networking site. It seems Pinterest-ish.

Where do you stand on the veil?

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

5 comments on “Burqa Know How

  1. djdfr
    January 15, 2014

    I wish men wold stop hassling women in public. The covering is partly to discourage that, but the problem should be addressed at its source–what is in our hearts.

    I think too much ado is being made over head scarves, etc.

    Personally I can’t stand scarves or anything tight around my neck but do believe in modest dress.

    • TheGreatZambini
      January 18, 2014

      I personally tend to dislike the hijab, as it blocks my peripheral vision, but like I said in the post I still use it as a favored Winter fat. I don’t like anyone hassling anyone else in general, let’s not forget that women are just as prone to catcalling a lone man while they are in a group, it just is considered acceptable because it is assumed the man in question won’t view it as harassment.

      • djdfr
        January 23, 2014

        I have never that sort of behaviour by women that I can remember.

      • TheGreatZambini
        February 2, 2014

        Ah, well, maybe it’s not considered that when a woman does it? Or it’s something you see more in certain cities where it is culturally accepted for women to flirt that way? I know in many places it’s more accepted for women to appear meek and a little delicate to flirt around men, or quiet and composed, or a million other things! I guess it’s not just a matter of gender as far as flirting goes, it’s also a matter of what kind of personality a person has. If they are a real outgoing go getter type, they may walk up to some stranger and chat them up if they like them, whereas I never would be brave enough :)

  2. Pingback: Mean Green Sweetheart | Out of The Hat

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 15, 2014 by in Travel, Reviews, Holidays and tagged , , , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
