Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

The Society of Name Changerators


There seem to be a lot of bad names out there. I mean, really bad names. We`ve got ethnic names, which sound really cool but make people look at you weirdly if you are the wrong race for them. I can`t give you specific examples, because that would get me tagged as a racist person (Bu the way, I can point to friends of every race that I actually consider friends and not just law suit shields. I live in Northern Virginia, racial diversity is inevitable even in social circles.) But to give you a hint, a white person on the East Coast sounds pretty stupid with a Hawaiin name. Same with a white person and a black name- both recent true African immigrants and long established African-American`s names don`t really suite a white face. And the name Le-a (actual name of a person I`ve met, verbatim: [Umm, Mrs. Teach. That name on attendance there, you said it wrong.] “The dash don`t be silent”) on a person of any ethnicity just sounds ghetto. Especially if you say “don`t” but mean “isn`t”. But that`s really besides the point. Because things go beyond the ‘weird’ in the world on names.

Photo courtesy of Southern Mama`s blog.

Photo courtesy of Southern Mama`s blog.

Also in the world of improper use of punctuation in names (isn`t any punctuation in a name kind of improper?) are names made solely of this device. That`s right. There are babies alive in the world right now who have been emoti-conned and puncti-gravated by their parents. Yes. There are parents out there trying to name their child “Period”. As in the actual sign. As in really. (Check out CNN if you don`t believe me.)

   There are babies alive in the world right now who have been emoti-conned and puncti-gravated by their parents.

                       I remember reading MaryJanice Davidson`s book “Dead over Heels“* book and being shocked by a character with the ridiculous name Crescent Muhn. (pronounced moon.) And I thought that was one of the worst names I`d ever heard. But it wasn`t. That`s because finding all the misnamed people in the world seems to be a new trend on the interwebs. There are blogs, Tumblrs by the dozen (okay, you got me, these are a type of blogs too. But geeze, it`s Nanowrimo. Give me a break!), and news articles on sites like Huffington. If that blur of tangled links wasn`t enough to overwhelm you with bad names, I`ve even got one better. There is a website for the Institute for Naming Children Humanely. You know, because it`s become pretty obvious that not enough parents are doing that, if children with names like “Hitler” and “Poopy McPants” out terrorizing some young victim. Maybe that`s where we should be channeling more of our anti-bullying initiative`s money to. Because I think that`s something pretty scarring that you have no hope of fighting back. How can you defend yourself when your name clearly states your parents don`t care about you or were as drunk as satyrs at your birth?

That`s why I have a fresh proposal for you, world. I want to start a charity. They would give people who really desperately need it the money to get the courts to legally change their names to something decent. The “Killing Our Nasty Names” agency. We can even give this group the acronym KONN, because obviously these parents were conning their children out of a lifetime of happiness and joy. With your help, these people can hide their shameful past names from future spouses and perhaps avoid crying in shame when their name is called on Graduation Day. They`ll thank you for your contributions, believe me.

Would you donate to save a person with an awful name from untold and lifelong horrors? (“Or are you a jerk?,” is implied in the question, so no pressure or anything.)

*The book mentioned is recommended for days at the beach where you don`t really want to think too much but want to laugh maybe a little bit. It`s a little crude. And there`s a lot of shoes.

19 comments on “The Society of Name Changerators

  1. David Emeron
    November 18, 2013

    It is very like you have read my mind.

    • TheGreatZambini
      November 18, 2013

      We must save children everywhere from excessively whimsical parents! It may just be a civic duty. (:

      • David Emeron
        November 20, 2013

        Indeed! I have the (mis) fortune to know some true stories of such names. I am not quite sure I should tell them.

      • TheGreatZambini
        November 25, 2013

        No, that would only compound the shame of it. Let`s give them at least some privacy here, poor things!

      • David Emeron
        November 27, 2013

        Then I shall hold my proverbial tongue. But they are some real gems, I can promise you that. Imagine, if you will, a made up name or two accidentally being identical–even in spelling–to a dread disease, or a branded piece of industrial equipment. Truth is stranger than fiction.

      • TheGreatZambini
        December 3, 2013

        No, I`d believe it all right. Human nature is full of anomalies from normal behavior, that`s why we are entertained by celebrities and the news, because they are so much more different than us it makes us feel normal.

      • David Emeron
        December 11, 2013

        This article of yours made me laugh and also cringe for two entirely different reasons, the overall effect of which was very enjoyable!

      • David Emeron
        November 20, 2013

        Ah, these poor children. I would have to consider how best to do so without adding insult to injury; and this is the first time I believe I have used this phrase in nearly a century. Still never, I fear, has it been so appropriately applied.

      • TheGreatZambini
        November 25, 2013

        That is quite true. I think that this is a case where even the strictest matron would call a child by a self identified nick name which is not quite so painful. “Apple”, for example, could be turned into Alyss or Adam, depending on the child`s gender. I think it is almost our duty to call a child`s preferred nickname if their real name is so embarrassing.

      • David Emeron
        November 27, 2013

        Ala, Edgar Allen Poe/Southpark: If young Ed wishes to call himself “Nightpain,” I can respect that; but… the other way round… That is unforgivable!

      • TheGreatZambini
        December 3, 2013

        I`m sorry, I don`t get that at all, probably because I`m very limited in the shows I watch. Reruns of Poirot, Sherlock, Psych. Sometimes a little of the Simpsons, but Southpark is just too much for me!

      • David Emeron
        December 3, 2013

        I try to channel my inner gradeschooler in order to tolerate the often cringe inducing “toilet” humour of Matt and Trey (the show’s creators) it is worth it for the brilliant–even fearless–social commentary. Not all have my stout heart, however : )

  2. David Emeron
    November 18, 2013

    kanzensakura highly recommends you. For good reason; that much is certain.

    • TheGreatZambini
      November 18, 2013

      Aw, thank you very much. She recommended that I read your blog, and I loved that as well!

      • David Emeron
        November 19, 2013

        Thank you. I am not sure if it is the work I do there that Kanzen enjoys as much as the story of love that most of my sonnets describe. And of course, My Dearest Mrs. Emeron can be found lurking about in the comment section quite often.

      • TheGreatZambini
        November 25, 2013

        Lurking is one of the best ways to show love, right?

      • David Emeron
        November 27, 2013

        My sweetheart is excellent at it, as well. She perfected the art long before the internet was made public! (I believe they now call it “stalking!”)

      • TheGreatZambini
        December 3, 2013

        Aw, I`m sure it was all in love. :)

      • David Emeron
        December 11, 2013

        (at least that’s what she told the police… : )

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2013 by in Fashion, Beauty, Sewing & Crafts, News, Opinion, Science, Sports and tagged , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
