Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

Down By The Waterside


green fishposted buhaypilipino chat

Down by the riverside is a glowing green scale.

A young boy, bored by his fishing endeavors, picked the scale up and twiddled it in his fingers.

It was quite a shock as he felt his whole body twist and change, his memories ending  even as his gills gulped oxygen from the murky depths.

To this day, no one knows what happened to the little boy, but the old ladies still talk of the remaining clue in fear.

By a pair of abandoned sneakers, a new glowing scale has replaced the last, ready to find a new body.

Pretty spooky, huh? I guess I was a little inspired by those terrifying stories told around campfires on hot Summer nights. I think this is the first time I`ve ever written anything remotely scary, so I guess I`m a little proud of the combined challenge of using a new genre and trying to stay within the five sentence challenge!  Hooray for challenges. :)

Are you up to the challenge of five sentence fiction? If you want to make it even harder, do it in a genre you never use!

5 comments on “Down By The Waterside

  1. mkesling63
    May 29, 2013

    Unless it is for My Mr. Impecabble alone, I am just no good in fiction that can be read by the public in any amount of lines. I only do that romance daily bread thing for him alone.

    • TheGreatZambini
      May 30, 2013

      I guess we can let you off the hook, then :) Maybe you can challenge yourself offline, though! It takes practice to improve writing, and this could be just the thing for you!

      • mkesling63
        May 30, 2013

        No my favotire hoobies are to read others good works here and present buying for the family and friends. Now I get to buy the presents and get travel in too!

      • TheGreatZambini
        May 30, 2013

        Ooooh, travel is a wonderful hobby! I always get reeved up for my yearly trip to some new and exciting place, I hope you get to go to fun places as well! :)

  2. Pingback: A Mystery | Out of The Hat

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2013 by in Art, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
