Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

Reflective Still Life


Reflective Still Life

The great challenge of drawing reflective materials, of course, is representing the reflective qualities while also giving the piece some sense of separation from what is surrounding it. And cutting out the inevitable reflections of humans in the studio and the changing light also made things a little messy. Of course, that fact that I was using pencils, perhaps my worst medium, may also have contributed to the difficulty. Either way, all in all this piece took me about three months to complete. To give a sense of the reason why, though, you should know that this piece is about 3 feet by 2 feet big. It`s a pretty big bit of real estate to cover, but somehow I managed it.

This was done purely with #2 led, on paper, 3′ x 2′, paper is bent slightly on the side.

Probably not worth trying to sell, huh? It seems funny that the student artist, who is most in need of money, is the one who has few outlets to make any. Maybe one day my writing will take off and I`ll publish a novel instead?

2 comments on “Reflective Still Life

  1. mkesling63
    May 22, 2013

    This does not look like a student artist to me.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 22, 2013 by in Art, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
