Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

Geek Style


Two months ago I did a research visit (Yeah, research. suuure, Z!) at Katsucon. Among many amazing things I hadn`t seen in general, I also saw many elements of style I don`t run into when I flip through my Vogue or fashion blogs. Which is actually pretty surprising, considering that you`d think the first place geek fashion would be is on a blog. The internet is still run by geeks, after all. They are the people that put the incomprehensible HTML and formatting mumbo jumbo into the finished product we all know and love. Heck, this whole WordPress thing is run by some sort of geek! Geeks are good people, and sometimes their fashion is too.

The Man Skirt (Different from plaid)

These are best black. Photo courtesy of thexstylez

The Top Hat is Back. Thank you gothic animes for starting this :)

The top hat looks accessible with the geeky fashion glasses. photo courtesy of nothing-elegant`s blog

These people were really big on rings. Dragon rings, rings that turn, rings that are whistles, rings with crazy jewels. There were just a lot of rings. I kind of like rings too, but they were different from the normal variety.

bronze Chinese dragon, $43 at etsy.com

Of course, the geek t-shirt is always a classic look, especially when paired with a tuxedo jacket to dress things up.

from skreened

The idea of a cape seems to appeal to a lot of geeks. (Which, I assure you, despite what all of my friends have said , I`m not actually a geek or a hipster. Really, I`m not!) Whether the idea is to harken back to medieval England, copy a superhero, or channel some of the mysteriousness of Aragorn as Strider, capes are kind of cool.

A more modern incarnation is to wear a capelet, especially if you are a girl. Of course, as we have seen with the man skirt, guys can cross over. But, you know, I only write here. Talk to the fashionistas in charge before you go attacking me!

This photo is courtesy of culture of cute.

So, there are a few of my fashion gleamings from a rather overwhelming event. It took a bit of work, sorting through the fluorescent wigs and Japanese school girl uniforms to find some unifying styles that lie beyond the characters, but I found it, and I have to say I find it all pretty fascinating. There`s a whole world out there that I know almost nothing about!

What are some other looks or pieces you can recommend as part of geek style? Or even the glorified geek hipster style, which I`m not sure actually has anything to do with real geeks anymore!

6 comments on “Geek Style

  1. pheasentsong
    April 25, 2013

    The top hat, man-skirt and mini-cape thing look quite steampunk to me. I LURRRVE steampunk http://pinterest.com/lolarose38/steampunk/

    • TheGreatZambini
      May 1, 2013

      Steampunk can be really cute. :) I`m just not sure I would be brave enough to wear a whole outfit! Maybe just one accessory would be ok.

      • pheasentsong
        May 7, 2013

        I wore a steampunk outfit for the carnival in Venice this year. And apparently there is a steampunk festival in September in Lincoln, so i will be going to that. I think if you go somewhere where EVERYONE is wearing it, you don;t feel so self conscious!

      • TheGreatZambini
        May 7, 2013

        I think that is definitely true. But that just might be a reflection of my overall style, that I like to include elements from various fashions into one outfit. It makes me feel more creative!

  2. mkesling63
    April 25, 2013

    I have natural whalebone hips. So looking at a screen just doesnt do it for me. I standard style rarely does.

    • TheGreatZambini
      May 1, 2013

      I tend to buy things that are bigger than I need them to be, then I can tailor them to fit my shape exactly. If you don`t do your own sewing, a lot of laundromats have tailoring services for a reasonable price.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2013 by in Travel, Reviews, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
