Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

The Outlook


Also called Rainy Fields, or The Gatherer. I guess I`m not all too decisive about naming something that has really gone unnamed since I made it, but I can`t in all consciousness really feel justified in not bothering to name something that has its own post. It would feel demeaning. So, instead, apparently this piece gets three titles. That`s a huge step up from zero!

chalk pastel rainign fields

This is a girl in a kimono gathering herbs and flowers in the middle of a Spring storm, continuing my recent obsession with all things seasonal and Spring-y.  I had the post on inchworm love, gardening with native plants as well as gardening indoors and before Spring really hops into action. I just really like Spring! And rain. have I mentioned I love rain? People never seem to notice, but all the colors are brighter and the world is livelier when it is raining. There is a soundtrack to the goings on of nature, and that is definitely rain! I love it. And have you ever felt that moment when you really understand what it means to be part of creation, because you are standing in one of the pieces that keeps life going? I stand in a rainstorm, and I feel like I know the secrets of the universe and God`s deepest secrets. Absolutely lovely.

I did this with chalk pastels and my own finger for some judicious smudging. Here is another case where I wish I could afford to frame my work! I suppose this one will just have to languish unprotected, like all the others. It is sad, I know.

Do you love rain, or do you prefer sunny days?

4 comments on “The Outlook

  1. mkesling63
    April 22, 2013

    Can always get great frames at goodwill fro a fraction of the cost or put them on a present list.

    • TheGreatZambini
      April 22, 2013

      That`s very true, I suppose I`m just a little lazy about these things!

  2. lucybythesea
    April 23, 2013

    Lovely pastel drawing! I love sun, but I also love rain – but not boring uk cold drizzle – I love the ridiclously wet warm rain you get in Malaysia. Btw have you thought about doing your drawings on canvases? You can get them cheaply from discount stationary stores, and then you can hang them as they are. :)

    • TheGreatZambini
      May 1, 2013

      I love rain, but I think there is nothing so dreamy and wonderful as mist with the first rays of sunlight peeping through in the morning. And there is something about a little chill that makes me feel so alive! I feel like I`m melting in the Summer, but then we have averages of 100 Fahrenheit with 90% humidity or worse! I have canvases right now actually (too lazy to put them together myself like a proper artist should) but there is just something terrifying about them. I always feel like transferring my work to a canvas is dooming myself to failure. Me and my superstitions!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2013 by in Art, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
