Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

What Do You Do With A Drunken Tree?


Why did I throw some Disney (I know, shocking that it comes from them of all places!) song lyrics in as my title? Because it`s catchy. See, it got you to read this, right? At any rate, I do know some drunken looking things around here. Some forlorn looking tree branches, for one. Yes, it is very sad that we cut down the greatest tree that ever lived yesterday, but some good came out of it. Besides granting me a tiny bit of yard that can handle partial shade flowers (Seriously, I think we live in the middle of Fangorn Forest or something, it is so densely shaded here.) I can also use those branches. Besides some sneaky plans for the thicker branches, I want to use up those gorgeous little red buds.

They are crying out for something cute. Something in a vase. Something like this:

Red Bud vase

Don`t you love the lighting here? I think this is my best photo yet!

These buds are from a red maple tree. You can choose to snip a few small bits of off your tree and put them in a vase. You don`t have to cut down a whole tree to do this!

6 comments on “What Do You Do With A Drunken Tree?

  1. lucybythesea
    April 21, 2013

    What are you going to do with the wood? I hear maple branches make good wands! and maybe you could make lots of little carvings for the garden so the tree is still ‘there’ ? :)

    • TheGreatZambini
      April 22, 2013

      There is a big stump left, so I am planning on making a totem pole. I haven`t figured out how to secure it standing up, however, without losing a foot or so of it by burying it. It`s only about six feet tall now (the rest of the height was chopped down D:) so I don`t want to lose all the rest. Any ideas?

  2. shellakers
    April 21, 2013

    Awe! I’m sorry you had to cut down your tree but cool to save the little branches :-) I 100% know what you mean by living in a forest though. We live in the Ozark Mountain area and on top of a hill where we’re covered in trees, which I love but everything is so shaded that it’s hard to plant anything. I do love the sun sometimes!

    • TheGreatZambini
      April 22, 2013

      It`s nice that we now have a square foot or so that could handle partial shade plants, though it feels a little silly that that is all the light has improved!

  3. mkesling63
    April 21, 2013

    Depends on how deseased the tree is. When that desease is communicable it must be cut down.

    • TheGreatZambini
      April 22, 2013

      No, no disease. It simply has spreading roots, and was unwisely planted a few decades ago about five feet from the foundation of the house. I believe the perpetrators were used to a much colder climate, (Michigan vs. DC) and trees there grow that height in a hundred years instead of thirty!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2013 by in Fashion, Beauty, Sewing & Crafts and tagged , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
