Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

Make-a-Mix Brownies


I say box brownies because I did a terrible thing. I used a brownie mix, and I did not actually make the brownies for myself. Well, sure, I had mixed up the mix itself a month or so before, so it was all actually homemade, but it is still not the done thing. Then, when I had whipped up my homemade mix, I then did an even more terrible thing. I had actually added some mix ins, and made my own brownie mix taste even better. So now, dear friends, that you know the awful things I have done, I trust you will not thrust my out of your comraderie and thrust me into the dread world of unfollowed bloggers?

Seriously, though, these brownies make me feel like I should be asking someone for forgiveness. I think I should feel bad for eating them, as they are really just that good. Really!

I got the inspiration for a basic brownie recipe at The Gluten Free Goddess, and I just went a little crazy with mix ins and other bits and pieces from there.

photo courtesy of giftypedia

Brownie Mix

(To Put Into Your Pantry For Future Use)

Ingredients

5 ounces high quality 60-70% cocoa dark chocolate
1 cup light brown sugar (not packed)
1/2 cup almond meal
1/4 cup sorghum flour
1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup pecans
1/4 cup large chocolate chunks.
*You can buy chocolate chunks as-is, or just smash up a solid bar or block of chocolate with a hammer. Obviously, that is the fun route, but it won`t be as perfect looking. I don`t recommend it for seriously OCD people, just because we want to avoid human explosions.
Storage
Store in a large and air-tight container in the pantry. I like Bell Jars, especially with a cute fabric cover. The mixture of almond flour, sorghum flour, and baking soda is good as a general homemade dry mix.

Brownies

To Bake and Then Eat Now

Wet Ingredients

1/2 cup organic coconut oil
2 organic free-range eggs, beaten
1 teaspoon bourbon vanilla
1 teaspoon mint

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Line an 8×8-inch square baking pan with parchment paper.
  2. Melt the dark chocolate and coconut cocoa powder oil in a saucepan over low heat, gently stirring. (Or melt in a microwave safe measuring cup and stir together to combine.)
  3. In a mixing bowl whisk together the brown sugar, almond meal, sorghum flour, fine sea salt and baking soda. Make a well in the center and add the beaten eggs, vanilla extract and melted dark chocolate mixture. Beat on low-medium for two minutes, until the batter begins to come together. At first it will seem thin, like cake batter, but keep beating until it thickens and becomes smooth and glossy.gluten free brownie
  4. Stir in the nuts by hand and spread the batter into the prepared baking pan. Even out the batter with a silicone spatula.
  5. Stud the top with some chocolate chunks and press in slightly.
  6. Bake in the center of a preheated 350ºF oven for 32 to 35 minutes, or until the brownies are set. The top will crack, like a flourless chocolate cake.
  7. Cool on a wire rack; and remove the cooled brownies from the pan by gripping the foil edges and lifting the brownies out as a whole.
  8. Chill for an hour before cutting. (Though warm and gooey is really divine, if you don’t mind them falling apart.)
 Yield: 16 servings

 I love brownies! What is your favorite dessert, or recipe?

2 comments on “Make-a-Mix Brownies

  1. bentodays
    April 17, 2013

    Looks so good! I love the idea of making the mix first to store for future use. Makes a great gift idea too.

    • TheGreatZambini
      April 20, 2013

      I just decanted a ten pound bag of mix I had bought in bulk (I don`t always feel like mixing it up myself, and this version was on sale!) and I plan to use it all the time in the future. It really is nice to store a few basic mixes, like pancake, yellow cake, and bread, and then be creative and make new things with less time and no nasty preservatives or overhead pricing.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 17, 2013 by in Fashion, Beauty, Sewing & Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
