Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

Regrets


FallsDusky sorrows

paint the wind,

Time is passing home again.

And when all we`ve seen

has lost its light,

Still man kind

can be brought to rights.

And as the years pass us by

Our love only grows

as we let our sorrow lie.

Forgiveness is the virtue

of an untroubled soul,

Though it can be given

by those with painful stories untold.

I told you I was going to share poems with you! I happen to be a particular fan of poetry, and some people say I have some skill with composing it. I`ll admit, though, that I can only manage free write and rhyming patterns- I`m hopeless at sonnets, limericks, and even haikus. I`m just no good when it comes to syllables. I mean, I can figure out how to write all of them, especially the haiku, but when I try I`m told in no uncertain terms that its just wrong. I just don`t think I`m cut out for strict poetry. This is actually pretty ironic, because I have been known to scoff at children`s poetry such as Shel Silverstein`s. It`s very cute and entertaining, but it doesn`t feel like the real thing. I guess I have no right to be critical, though, as his work is published and loved by many, whereas mine is, you know, here.

Do you prefer really structured poetry, or are you a fan of free write? Do you even like poetry at all?

5 comments on “Regrets

  1. lacartera
    April 5, 2013

    Good job! I’m a fan of “free write” !

    • TheGreatZambini
      April 5, 2013

      It`s my favorite style of poetry! I do sometimes tend to get stuck in it, though. Any suggestions for ways I can break out of my poetry rut?

      • lacartera
        April 5, 2013

        Poetry should come from the heart. You should write about your experiences, expectations, and what motivates you. What you enjoy..I can go on.. :)

      • TheGreatZambini
        April 6, 2013

        Yes, that is true, it`s not about trying to seem ‘deep’.

      • lacartera
        April 6, 2013

        I think it’s deep when we reveal what’s within. :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2013 by in Art, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
