Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

Cherry Blossom Festival


photo at abpan.com

It`s that time of year again! The Cherry Blossom Festival is in full swing now. Full of dancing, food, and other entertainment, it is the highlight of any Spring D.C. tourist`s visit.

I am so lucky, to live in D.C. To be able to walk around campus,or down the street, and see the treasured cherry blossoms. I`m just so very privileged! If you get a chance, try to visit Japan or D.C. when the cherry blossoms are blooming. It is a gorgeous sight!

Photo at amtravel.com

The Japanese have festivals and picnics to celebrate the blooming of these gorgeous trees. There is a festival around me as well! The Cherry Blossom Festival attracts thousands of visitors each year to bask in the blooms and enjoy the Japanese embassy and other groups join together to create this rather humongous event. It is always fun for the tourists, though some locals tend to dread it. (Mainly because we already have the worst traffic congestion and accidents in the country without any extra gawkers to plug up the flailing system!)

*featured image from livnglivlier

What are your cherry blossom photos and experiences? Tell me all about it, I really want to know!

 

6 comments on “Cherry Blossom Festival

  1. sensitiveflour
    April 3, 2013

    I love cherry blossom! I’m so lucky to have a cherry plum tree in my garden, it is pretty much the first thing to start flowering up in Spring (and a good natural reminder to start taking my hayfever medication) and most years it gived fruit that makes wonderful jam. I’d so love to travel to Japan one day. It’s certainly on my bucket list.

    • TheGreatZambini
      April 3, 2013

      I`m actually planning on visiting Japan for a year after I get my bachelor`s. I really like the cherry blossom trees, though I think I get a little jaded about them because I always see them. Sort of like some of my Alaskan friends get bored about eagles, or suburbanites get bored of deer. You see something too often, and you tend to lose your awe. But I still think they are lovely when I bother to think about them!

  2. bentodays
    April 3, 2013

    I haven’t actually been to Japan during the cherry blossom season but I’ll love to go! It is so pretty from what I see in pictures!

    • TheGreatZambini
      April 3, 2013

      It sounds amazing! DC gets really dressed up for their version as well, but I feel like it has gotten to be a bit too crowded in the last few years. If you visit the area, I suggest you look at the cherry blossoms in the greater DC area, instead of in the tourist central area. That means Arlington, Fairfax county, Loudon, and the like.

  3. mkesling63
    April 3, 2013

    I was lucky enough to visit unaware of the cherry tree time. It probably made it nicer.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2013 by in Fashion, Beauty, Sewing & Crafts, News, Opinion, Science, Sports and tagged , , , , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
