Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

Here we Never Let it Cool


A beautiful fancy free day. The sun is shining, kids are smiling, and I am off to play. Why? It`s a snow day! A beautiful day where snowballs are thrown and smiles are universal. Since snow comes to these parts so rarely, especially on a year like this one that is not the seventh year (snow seems to come every seven years, and rarely in between). So, in celebration of the fine day, I`ve got pajamas and flapjacks on my to-do list. But of course, you can`t have a snow day without any hot chocolate!

It lasts for so little time! I just went out to take a picture, but it seems to have warmed enough to be rain that washes the snow away.

It lasts for so little time! I just went out to take a picture, but it seems to have warmed enough to be rain that washes the snow away.

There was a bit more snow out back.

There was a bit more snow out back, and later that night.

 

So I whipped up a little recipe of my own that reflects my new love for bitter chocolate. I`d call it about 60%, in case you were curious. It appears I`m not ready yet for completely unsweetened chocolate drinks, despite my love for that in chocolate bars. What can you do? Add a little honey!

Hot Chocolate:

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons cocoa*
  • 1 teaspoon honey
  • 1/2 cup boiling coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup half and half
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika

Directions

  1. Bring the coconut milk to a boil and pour into a mug.
  2. Mix in the honey, cocoa, and half and half until everything is smoothly incorporated.
  3. Add some whipped cream to the top of the liquid, and top with the paprika.
cherry close

Cherry Blossoms on the mall will be blooming soon, if we go by these poor frozen cherries!

I love this combination. A little spicy, a bunch of bitter, and a little sweet bring it all together so it tastes leagues better than those bland Swiss Miss packets. Please, resist the urge to just use a packet! That is so boring, and this method makes an almost fancy hot chocolate with absolutely no work. Really, it`s just mixing, and you have to mix up those packets too.

I just wanted to say that, for the cocoa powder, this was done with Dutch process cocoa. (If you live in America, unless you special ordered some other variety, this is the stuff you have.) Dutch process cocoa has at least half of the chocolatey flavor stripped out of it, so I have to use a lot more for the same effect. And the fruity and nutty undertones of that wonderful chocolate bar I had were all stripped out. So, if you want to use better cocoa, like ground cocoa nibs or French process, then be sure to cut down the quantity of cocoa you use.

What`s your favorite pick-me-up for unusual or cold weather?

3 comments on “Here we Never Let it Cool

  1. djdfr
    March 7, 2013

    Your recipe sounds very interesting. I use Van Houten cocoa. it has more depth than Hershey’s.
    I am more likely have a cup of tea though, these days.

  2. Pingback: thegreatzambini's Blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 7, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
