Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

Join Us for Slow Cooker Rice Pudding


You are being haunted. It is following you. At night, it dances through your dreams, chasing you with scandalous ideas. During the day, you can`t think straight, stuck on the tantalizing images your brain supplies. I think it`s getting to you.

What is it? I`ll tell you what it is. Rice pudding! Shocked you, didn`t I?

It`s Hauntingly Good For Breakfast!

Besides the fact that rice pudding is far healthier than brains, or whatever else you were thinking of above, it is also super tasty and easy to make. Very easy. And, did I mention healthy? I mean, usually for a breakfast treat you pick up a doughnut or a slice of coffee cake. This is much better.

Even better, this is faster than running to the coffee shop down the street. If you let it percolate overnight in the crock pot, you can just eat it in the morning with no effort. No effort is always the way to go when it comes down to ten extra minutes to do your hair, or running out the door with bed head. Actually, that isn`t really an option, so it looks like you have now been forced to stick to the pudding. Well, it wouldn`t be an option for me. If you like looking like a slob, I shall leave you to it.Rice Pudding 1

So, what`s the recipe here?

Ingredients

  • 2 c brown rice
  • 1/2 c  black long grain rice
  • 1 and 1/2 cups evaporated milk
  • 2/3 c brown sugar
  • 3 tb soft butter
  • t ts almond extract
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 c raisins

There`s actually quite a few nice changes in this classic slow cooker recipe. The original recipe was in a booklet made by Rival (Rival`s Crock Pot cookbook) in the sixties or seventies, and has been hanging around in one house or another in the family since then. It`s full of all kinds of old retro recipes, which makes sense since this was made in the retro period. But I felt it needed some modern details. Instead of using white rice, I replaced it with some black rice for fiber and color, and brown rice for fiber that`s a little cheaper. Actually, in Chinese tradition, black long grain rice was reserved for the emperor to eat. This is food of the kings here!Rice Pudding 2

I think the replacement of vanilla with almond continues that little touch that would be considered Asian by someone who doesn`t really eat Asian food that often. I also like the addition of cinnamon. Actually, for much of history, cinnamon was an exotic spice that was gotten from India. I guess we are just keeping that theme going! And the raisins? I like raisins. That`s one classic element of rice pudding that I refuse to omit. It isn`t rice pudding if there are no raisins. (Obviously, the rice has nothing to do with it…?)

What do you do with all of those ingredients? Well, we are going to whip them up into something yummy and food like. Or, even better than food like (we`ll reserve that right to your rubbery American cheese- a specific type of cheese, not a bash on all cheese varieties made in the USA- and US Nutella. It has all kinds of junk in it. Oddly, the Aldie brand, which is a German run company, is made with real food, and I`m really loving it! I`m starting to fall in love with that chain.)

Directions

Cook all of the rice, according to package directions. Combine with all remaining ingredients. Pour into a lightly greased Crock Pot. Cover and cook on high for 1 to 2 hours. Stir during first thirty minutes. Keeping the lid on, turn the power off. It will stay warm and toasty until you serve it up the next morning! Recipe can be doubled for a 3 1/2 or 5 quart Crock Pot.

What`s your favorite breakfast treat? What retro recipe do you always go back to, or have monkeyed around with?

5 comments on “Join Us for Slow Cooker Rice Pudding

  1. bentodays
    February 21, 2013

    Looks good :)

  2. Lynell
    February 26, 2013

    I’ll right away grasp your rss as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you have any? Please let me realize so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

    • TheGreatZambini
      March 4, 2013

      Sorry that my e-mail link has been down! There was some mess as I thought I wanted to switch to a more magazine style blog layout, and I tried to do so. When I realized I didn`t understand how to make that work, and wasn`t interested in the more serious feel it gave my blog, I promptly switched it back to this theme. However, I had to reactivate all of my widgets, and I`m afraid I forgot the one for email followers! Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I`ve fixed it all up now, follow away! I feel so honored that you want to add notices from me to your inbox, just because you think my work is worth it. Thank you!

  3. chatroulette
    March 4, 2013

    This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your
    feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

    • TheGreatZambini
      March 4, 2013

      Thank you! I love appreciation, but especially when it comes from fellow poets! I always feel that my blog doesn`t really fit in with the real poets`, so thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2013 by in [ ] Frugal Frau`s Posts and tagged , , , , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
