Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

Quick Bites


I bought one of those cake pop molds. It was calling my name out in Michael`s, and I just had to take it home. It was a little like a lost puppy, with that silicon molds, hangdog eyes, and cute pictures on the package. Well, not the hangdog eyes. There was a picture of monster cake pops on the package, and they certainly had eyes, but they were more cutesy cartoon than quietly beguiling.

What can one make with such a creature? I`m glad you asked.

Cake pops for your sweetie. How sweet!

For one thing, you can make cake pops. Pretty straight forward, but good all the same. The kind you bake holds together much better than the kind you whip up with baked cake and globs of frosting squished together. I tried doing that a million times, and it always fell off the lollipop stick. cakesbylex has a nice tutorial for Valentine`s day themed pops, if you don`t need birthday themed ones for your Mother. By the way, you should all leave a comment at the bottom to wish the Frau happy birthday!

Let the force/shwartz/sweets be with you!

Let the force/shwartz/sweets be with you!

I think I will be forced to make cake pops more like these, though. The Frau has spent the last year going through every Star Trek episode ever created, and the past week or so included a Star Wars marathon. It was a little disappointing, as all the sweets and popcorn you expect with a movie marathon were missing, but I think somehow my dignity may recover. I mean, I know she`d be happy with any present I gave her, because she is an awesome Mom like that, but I want to do something that is actually cool ( to her) anyways. After all, I just spent this weekend with a bunch of geeks at a convention, so I suppose I should keep that going. I`m going to tell you all about that convention, too- tomorrow, because I also went to the procrastinator`s convention. (It met a week late.)

The same blog I set up the link for also has a tutorial on Mario themed cake pops, which are also a good possibility. How many Marios did I meet at Katsucon, you might ask. Well, I think I saw twenty that were just Mario, and ten groups that were Mario and friends. That`s including the fact that it was a manga/anime convention, and really had very little to do with classic games. I suspect that many visitors use these conventions as an excuse to have a more competitive version of Halloween, and care very little about the details.

These are perfect for birthday cakepops- if the birthday girl was closer to grade school

These are perfect for birthday cakepops- if the birthday girl was closer to grade school

These really are sweet little cake pops. They seem perfect for my little cousin`s birthday (7 next August!) or for a party involving those who love cute. I`m thinking of a few of my friends here. And some people at the convention. Half the girls were wearing swim suits, and the other half were wearing five thousand bows and bits of lace, and it was really disgustingly over cute. I`m not a fan of that. These aren`t that bad, they just aren`t right for a woman who has three college aged children. (No, I`m not posting her age on the internet of all places. She`d kill me. Maybe not literally, but she might stop making me dinner, and that would be just as bad!) I wouldn`t be able to do that cotton candy and marshmallow flavors either, as she hates both artificial and insanely sweet stuff. I know, that`s really crazy considering we`re Americans, but you have to keep in mind that we`d be weird no matter where we lived. In fact, I drink soda maybe once a year, from a tiny juice cup. And I hate Coca-Cola and Pepsi. I know, it`s outrageous!

cake pop chocolateI think we`ve found the winning cake pop style over at eatreadcreate. Sure, the pink isn`t really the right style, but I`m probably going to use rainbow sprinkles instead. And the hearts and butterflies? Well, I think I know how to skip them. They are perfect for a sweetheart, but I have none, and my Mother would never count as one! I`m planning on using a recipe and making the cake and frosting from scratch, however, as I know that my Mom hates the taste of artificial. Nothing says love better than extra time and effort, right?

Do you like cake pops? Which one would you make? What is some advice you can share on making them come out right if you don`t have a mold, and are trying to mix the cake and frosting bits together? What are some design ideas you can share? Don`t forget to wish the Frau happy birthday!

19 comments on “Quick Bites

  1. lextorres
    February 20, 2013

    hey thanks for acknowledging my cake pops up there! awesome ideas as well.. gunna have to try a few different styles! happy birthday frau!

    • TheGreatZambini
      February 20, 2013

      I give all credit to the ideas to other amazing bloggers like yourself :) I`ll be sure to let her know you said so!

  2. bentodays
    February 20, 2013

    Your cake pops look lovely! So nicely done!

    • TheGreatZambini
      February 20, 2013

      Oh, no, I didn`t make those. Those pictures were taken by those bloggers! I`m making the actual cake pops tomorrow, for the actual birthday.

  3. eatreadcreate
    February 20, 2013

    Thanks for the acknowledgment! They were easy & tons of fun. And I agree with the artificial comment. There is something to be said about time & effort, and it always shows itself in the unique flavors and great taste. Be sure to post pictures of your finished product!

  4. lelaniedenso
    February 21, 2013

    thanks for the pingback! happy birthday!

  5. v8mile
    February 21, 2013

    I’d love to see pictures of the Star Trek themed cake pops. Everything is better on a stick!

    • TheGreatZambini
      February 21, 2013

      I know, it is so cool! I`m working on them right now, promise!

    • TheGreatZambini
      February 24, 2013

      I`m sorry, no Star Trek! I didn`t exactly end up with spherical pops, so it didn`t make sense to decorate them as characters. Kind of a bummer, but what I ended up doing was pretty inventive (if I do say so myself!) I`ll be sure to do that next time. Or I might change my mood and be in more of a superhero mood by then, but that would be pretty cute too.

  6. jenmonologues
    February 21, 2013

    how did it go? :)

    • TheGreatZambini
      February 22, 2013

      So far I`ve got the cake pops baked, just not decorated. Someone had the nerve to send a glorious carrot cake home with her, so I`m putting off the final presentation until Saturday (don`t worry, all of the carrot cake will be gone by then!)

      • TheGreatZambini
        February 24, 2013

        It didn`t go as planned, that`s how it went. But I think it ended up looking cute anyways!

  7. video animation
    February 22, 2013

    After checking out a handful of the articles on your site, I truly like your way of writing a blog. I book-marked it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in the near future. I wanted to tell you, I bookmarked Quick Bites | thegreatzambini& at Delicious so my friends will see it too. Take a look at my web site as well and let me know what you think.

  8. TheGreatZambini
    February 24, 2013

    I finished the cake pops, and the new post will be up by 10 AM Eastern Standard time tomorrow. They didn`t end up with anything that relates to Star Wars at all because they came out really oddly shaped, but I think what I ended up with was even more imaginative than cake pops! This link will activate once it is posted. https://thegreatzambini.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/sweet-murder/

  9. Pingback: Sweet Murder | thegreatzambini's Blog

  10. cookies by design
    March 1, 2013

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This piece of writing posted at this site is in fact pleasant.

    • TheGreatZambini
      March 4, 2013

      I went over to your blog, it looks very cute! I love your layout.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2013 by in Recipes, Allergies, Diets, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
