Out of The Hat

Making the Ordinary, Extraordinary

Fire Beside Her


I recently had a fire. And by recently, I mean yesterday. And by fire, I mean the out of control inside my house kind. It didn`t make me happy. It made me rather distraught, truth be told. I used to be a fan of flames and burning stuff, but I don`t like fire anymore. Someone should have told me a fireplace has a flue… Meantime, I`m a little too rattled to put a real post together for you. I promise to have one in tomorrow! In the meantime, please enjoy this lovely poem:

Flickering flames

burning bright

smoke to shield the moon`s true light

billowing out in columns and tons

unveils the feel of safety we hold.

Rising, ever rising

as we cough and hack away.

Duck to the floor, you may live that way.

Darkness dancing,

pillars sway,

here we had a fire today.

I guess I shouldn`t complain too much, as no one was really hurt. In fact, the house wasn`t even hurt. Though the fire wouldn`t go out, no matter how many buckets of water we put on it, it stayed inside of the open fireplace. That means there was a lot of smoke more than any burning action. I`m so blessed no one was hurt, nothing was burned, and there really isn`t much to remind me of the event besides a sore throat and red eyes.

5 comments on “Fire Beside Her

  1. djdfr
    February 12, 2013

    I hope there was no damage.

    • thegreatzambini
      February 12, 2013

      There was really more smoke damage than anything else. Thanks for the nice wishes :)

  2. Pingback: Casual Geekery | thegreatzambini's Blog

  3. Pingback: Break Blues Begone! | thegreatzambini's Blog

  4. Pingback: Children of Flames | Out of The Hat

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2013 by in Art, Photography, Poetry, Z Land and tagged , , , , .

Member of The Internet Defense League

Content Sharing

If you want to reblog any post or repost any photos or images, you are welcome to do so. Please just include a notice that it was made by me, and a link back to the homepage or source post on my blog. If you wish to include an element in my blog in a new creation (ex: putting one of my poems in a Youtube video with music and photos) please feel free to do so, as long as a notice that it was created by me, and a link back to me, are included.
